This store requires javascript to be enabled for some features to work correctly.






The Famous Four Gemstones

The Famous Four Gemstones

The Famous Four Precious Gemstones

We love educating our readers about the properties and meanings of gemstones, normally within the context of the stones we use regularly in jewellery at Augustine Jewels. However, this week we’d like to teach you about the Famous Four. There are four famous sought after gemstones that are considered ‘precious’; diamonds, sapphires, emeralds and rubies. Carry on reading for the meaning and properties of these gemstones!


Diamonds are the hardest naturally occurring material known to man, and can only be scratched by another diamond. Needless to say, they rate a 10 on the Mohs scale due to their complicated isometric molecular structure. The quality of a diamond is determined by a globally accepted standard for describing diamonds, known as the four Cs: cut, colour, clarity and carat. Diamonds are associated with strength, love and health but also have been the symbol for eternal love and commitment - making them the perfect stone for engagement rings!


Sapphires are also renowned for their toughness as they rate a 9 on the Mohs scale, and can only be scratched by diamonds. The beautiful stone is mined from weathering deposits and is primarily found in Australia, China, Kenya and Sri Lanka. Due to it being the third hardest mineral, Sapphires are sometimes used in high durability windows and watch crystals. The gemstone is associated with royalty and is said to attract abundance, blessings and gifts.


Emeralds are a beautiful gemstone of high value, however they aren’t known for their hardness and durability. Rating a 7.5 on the Mohs scale, their resistance to breakage is similar to that of Topaz. Colombia is the primary place for Emeralds to be mined, with Zambia and Brazil also being prominent producers. Emerald has been a symbol of truth and fidelity for thousands of years, and remains symbolic of commitment to love today.

Ruby is our final gemstone of the Famous Four. Part of the same family as Sapphires, Ruby is also an incredibly durable gemstone with a rating of 9 on the Mohs scale. The colour ranges from a pink hue to blood red and they are a perfect gemstone to use in jewellery due to their hardness. They’re historically found in Thailand, Australia, Brazil and Colombia- the precious stone lacks presence in Europe. Rubies represent nobility, power and passion and is the birthstone of July.
At Augustine Jewels, we appreciate the value and fame that these gemstones hold. The passion of our company is producing beautiful jewellery using natural and ethically sourced gemstones. We love spreading knowledge of stones and hope you enjoy learning!

A selection of our jewellery featuring these four gemstones:

This exquisite diamond pendant featured in our 2020 Bridal Collection, it holds stunning White Diamonds set in 18ct White Gold

This delicate silver necklace is simply designed, allowing the beautiful Sapphire stone to be the centre of attention.

These stud earrings hold a touch of modern glamour, showcasing a simple but elegant spiral design with a natural Emerald at the centre.

This a beautiful example of a bespoke design, it features six oval Rubies surrounded by white diamonds and set in White Gold.
For enquiries about our jewellery, email or call 020 3556 5780 during business hours to speak to a member of our team.
And for all your bespoke jewellery needs, contact designer Alexandra directly at or book a consultation online.
Follow us on social media @augustinejewels to keep up to date with our latest collections, bespoke handmade jewellery pieces, and fashion recommendations!

Leave a comment